Review: The Sister-in-Law by Sue Watson

The Sister-in-Law by Sue Watson

Publisher: Bookouture

To Be Published on: 30/04/2020

Genres: Mystery/Thriller

My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars

Goodreads/Amazon

Synopsis

‘You don’t think Jamie and I have secrets, do you? No, we tell each other everything.’ She smiled. ‘Including your dirty little secret. So, thinking about it, maybe it’s time to start being nice to me?’

THE WIFE: Clare is ready for a break. It’s been a tough year and now she wants to put her feet up. Arriving at the Italian villa for their summer holiday, she decides it’s high time her husband and his family did some of the work. After all, her husband owes her…

THE HUSBAND: Even though Dan had his head turned by someone else, he’s realised the error of his ways. He’s here now, and he says it’s for keeps. Clare can trust him, can’t she? At least he’ll have his brother there, to keep him in line…

THE BROTHER: Jamie is the prodigal child, back in the family fold again, after years of travelling abroad. But when he gets to the villa, he’s not alone. He’s brought a wife, someone none of them have met before.

THE SISTER-IN-LAW: Ella is everything Clare isn’t. Glamorous. Young. Influential. But she knows a secret about Clare. Something that has the power to break the whole family apart.

And there’s someone who will do whatever it takes to make sure that this deep secret never comes to the surface.

An utterly unputdownable, gripping, twisty psychological thriller perfect for fans of Before I Go To Sleep, The Girl on the Train and Date Night.

My Thoughts

“I received a free copy of this book from the publisher through Netgalley in return for an honest review”

I seriously blame the synopsis and the spine chilling prologue for me being disappointed with this book and giving it a 3.5 stars. I seriously believe that I would have given this one 4 stars if it hadn’t being for my sky high expectations.

This book started out strong. The starting bit was pretty good with lurking suspense, like a calm before the storm, but soon this book kind of dropped the ball. There were a few twists but mostly all through the first 50% I was left wanting more action, creepiness and suspense. I am not saying it was bad, just that I had expected more than this first 50% of the book finally delivered.

In the second part, the book became much better. I really enjoyed the second half. Though I still felt that it could have been slightly more thrilling but overall it was good. There were some good twists.

The most thrilling portion of this book was the last 20% of the book. There was one huge twist that I never saw coming. I was totally, utterly surprised by this twist. And then there was another twist, that one was also very good. In general the last 20% was just awesome.

I didn’t quite like the ending though. I would have preferred if the book had ended with the last chapter and the epilogue was not there.

I had one other problem with the book, that is there were a few conversations that I thought ended quite abruptly. These were explosive conversations, and they ended in such a place that I felt like “seriously this is where it ends?” and if I was Clare I would never have ended such conversations at those points and if I had ended them that way then I would have remained tormented by them in very waking minute and also in my sleep, but Clare sure wasn’t. These conversations were done with and never mentioned again by the people involved, but I personally felt these conversations were far from over.

Overall I did enjoy the book even though I had a couple issues with it. The twists were really nice and the concept of the book was also pretty good in my opinion. And I also liked the characters Ella and Clare. Overall even though I had a couple of issues I still feel The Sister-in-Law was a decent thriller and I do recommend it.

View all my reviews

4 thoughts on “Review: The Sister-in-Law by Sue Watson

    1. Thank you! I am so happy to see someone agrees with me because both the Goodreads and Netgalley review for this book is filled with 4 and 5 star reviews. I am not saying the book was bad, it was good but I feel it could have been better.
      Desperately waiting to read your review for this book!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I enjoyed it, but it was definitely a 3 star read for me. Good, but not the best I’ve read lately. Not bad by any means, just ok. I’m drafting my review now 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s