5 New Releases by South Asian Authors I am Really Excited to Read! #Connect5Friday

Hi guys, welcome! It has being a long time since I did a Connect 5 Friday, and I am really very sorry for that. It was like all the creative ideas had somehow left me. Anyway, I am finally back, and hopefully I will be more regular this time around. For today’s Connect 5 Friday post, I have decided to talk about 5 Books by South Asian Authors that I am very excited to read.

Connect Five Friday is a feature/link up hosted by Book Date. For this feature you will have to make a list of five books or things connected to books. There is no set topic, so you can make a list of any bookish things.

Now, let’s begin.

1) The Bookweaver’s Daughter by Malavika Kannan (Will Release on 8/9/20)

The Bookweaver’s Daughter is an #OwnVoices YA fantasy—a tale of magic, Indian lore, and radical female friendship, written by debut author, Malavika Kannan, when she was 17 year old. Malavika is an Indian-American novelist, feminist writer, and political activist raised in the suburbs of Central Florida and currently a freshman at Stanford University.

In the ancient Indian kingdom of Kasmira, stories don’t begin with “once upon a time.” 

Instead, Kasmiris start a woman’s story with those who came before her: her parents, grandparents, ancestors. For fourteen-year-old Reya Kandhari, her story always starts the same: with the fabled line of Bookweavers, tracing centuries back to the lost Yogis—the mythical guardians of Kasmiri culture who created the world itself. As a result, Reya’s entire life has been shaped by words. Words of mystique and mythology. Words of magic that allow her father, the Bookweaver, to bring his stories to life. Words of power that make him the target of tyrants who will stop at nothing to destroy magic in Kasmira.

Living in disguise as a peasant in the fields, Reya’s sole focus is protecting the Bookweaver’s secret. But when her father is taken, Reya must flee deep into the jungle, alone with her best friend Nina and one ancient book. Grappling with Reya’s newfound magic, the two girls find themselves in the center of a war of liberation where magic reigns unchecked, and destiny takes a dark turn. As the stakes get higher, Reya realizes that her father’s legacy contains more power than she ever imagined. For Reya Kandhari is more than just a fugitive—she is a symbol of revolution. And that makes her a threat.

In a tale of magic, Indian lore, and radical female friendship, Reya must pass the final test: the Bookweaver’s daughter must weave her own destiny. The fate of Kasmira depends on it.

It has Indian lore, magic and female friendship!!! I literary don’t need anything else.

2) Star Daughter by Shveta Thakrar (Will Release on 11/08/20)

This gorgeously imagined YA debut blends shades of Neil Gaiman’s Stardust and a breathtaking landscape of Hindu mythology into a radiant contemporary fantasy.

The daughter of a star and a mortal, Sheetal is used to keeping secrets. Pretending to be “normal.” But when an accidental flare of her starfire puts her human father in the hospital, Sheetal needs a full star’s help to heal him. A star like her mother, who returned to the sky long ago.

Sheetal’s quest to save her father will take her to a celestial court of shining wonders and dark shadows, where she must take the stage as her family’s champion in a competition to decide the next ruling house of the heavens–and win, or risk never returning to Earth at all.

Brimming with celestial intrigue, this sparkling YA debut is perfect for fans of Roshani Chokshi and Laini Taylor

I have talked about this book multiple times in my Mid Year Freak Out Tag but I am going to talk about it here again because this one sounds so awesome and LOOK AT THAT COVER!

3) Your Heart After Dark by Mahtab Rohan (Will Release on 4/09/20)

Maria Chaudhry’s personal demons trap her in a downward spiral, but the beast lurking in Ehmet’s blood can do a lot worse than that.
After a year of living in a prissy suburb, Maria Chaudhry is back downtown. Back to what she never wanted to leave. But she can’t really enjoy it since neither the living nor the dead will leave her in peace.

JC’s death still keeps her up at night and Ehmet’s sudden ambivalence isn’t helping. Maybe she had read his signals wrong and Ehmet was never in love with her like she thought. Or maybe his love is tangled with secrets too dark to speak aloud, secrets about JC’s death and the unpredictable beast in Ehmet’s blood.

When an upcoming hiking trip is canceled, there’s no pretty path left towards the truth. A growing spiral of deceit threatens to tear Maria and Ehmet apart forever, but the beast lurking within Ehmet can do a lot worse than that.

Mahtab Rohan’s debut YA novel delivers a paranormal tale of crumbling friendships, malevolent secrets, and the struggle to have hope in the face of uncertainty.

I love the sound of this one. And I think I have never read anything YA paranormal before, so I am even more excited to read Your Heart After Dark.

4) The Henna Wars by Adiba Jaigirdar (Released on 12/05/20)

When Dimple Met Rishi meets Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda in this rom com about two teen girls with rival henna businesses.

When Nishat comes out to her parents, they say she can be anyone she wants—as long as she isn’t herself. Because Muslim girls aren’t lesbians. Nishat doesn’t want to hide who she is, but she also doesn’t want to lose her relationship with her family. And her life only gets harder once a childhood friend walks back into her life.

Flávia is beautiful and charismatic and Nishat falls for her instantly. But when a school competition invites students to create their own businesses, both Flávia and Nishat choose to do henna, even though Flávia is appropriating Nishat’s culture. Amidst sabotage and school stress, their lives get more tangled—but Nishat can’t quite get rid of her crush on Flávia, and realizes there might be more to her than she realized.

This one sounds so cute and sweet, and that cover is so so gorgeous! Just give me this book already.

5) A Burning by Megha Majumdar (Released on 02/06/20)

For readers of Tommy Orange, Yaa Gyasi, and Jhumpa Lahiri, an electrifying debut novel about three unforgettable characters who seek to rise—to the middle class, to political power, to fame in the movies—and find their lives entangled in the wake of a catastrophe in contemporary India.

Jivan is a Muslim girl from the slums, determined to move up in life, who is accused of executing a terrorist attack on a train because of a careless comment on Facebook. PT Sir is an opportunistic gym teacher who hitches his aspirations to a right-wing political party, and finds that his own ascent becomes linked to Jivan’s fall. Lovely–an irresistible outcast whose exuberant voice and dreams of glory fill the novel with warmth and hope and humor–has the alibi that can set Jivan free, but it will cost her everything she holds dear.

Taut, symphonic, propulsive, and riveting from its opening lines, A Burning has the force of an epic while being so masterfully compressed it can be read in a single sitting. Majumdar writes with dazzling assurance at a breakneck pace on complex themes that read here as the components of a thriller: class, fate, corruption, justice, and what it feels like to face profound obstacles and yet nurture big dreams in a country spinning toward extremism. An extraordinary debut.

I am not a big fan of Literary fiction, but this one sounds really good plus it is written by an Indian who is born and brought up in the same city as me, isn’t that supper exciting. Can’t wait to read this one.

What South-Asian Books are on your TBR?

15 thoughts on “5 New Releases by South Asian Authors I am Really Excited to Read! #Connect5Friday

  1. Oh my goodness! They all look so good. I have only heard of Star Daughter but plan to add the rest to my TBR. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s wonderful to hear. It makes me want to read it even more. 🙂

        Like

    1. Me too! Actually I just finished Star Daughter. And I really really enjoyed it.
      I hope that you pick both Star Daughter and Henna Wars soon, can’t wait to hear your thoughts about them!

      Like

  2. I really want to read The Henna Wars – and now I have 4 more awesome books to add to my TBR? Incredible. 🙌 Thanks for sharing!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s