It’s Monday! What are you Reading?

Blog Banner

I think I have never done this post before? Even though I love reading the posts other people do in response to this bookish meme, I myself have never done it. The reason is that it has been ages since I finished one book in a week, so there is nothing new to talk about every week and this is a weekly meme. My reading situation is still the same but, I have realised that I don’t need to do this post every week! I can just do it when I feel like I have new reads to talk about. Anyway, now coming back to the post. No no no wait, it is the first day of the new year, so, firstly, HAPPY NEW YEAR 2024!!!!!

A Happy New Year gif

It’s Monday! What are you reading is hosted by The Book Date.


Coming back to the post. I am currently reading 2 books, The Kind Worth Killing by Peter Swanson and Somewhere in the Deep by Tanvi Berwah.

The Kind Worth Killing book cover

On a night flight from London to Boston, Ted Severson meets the stunning and mysterious Lily Kintner. Sharing one too many martinis, the strangers begin to play a game of truth, revealing very intimate details about themselves. Ted talks about his marriage that’s going stale and his wife Miranda, who he’s sure is cheating on him. Ted and his wife were a mismatch from the start—he the rich businessman, she the artistic free spirit—a contrast that once inflamed their passion, but has now become a cliché.

But their game turns a little darker when Ted jokes that he could kill Miranda for what she’s done. Lily, without missing a beat, says calmly, “I’d like to help.” After all, some people are the kind worth killing, like a lying, stinking, cheating spouse. . . .

Back in Boston, Ted and Lily’s twisted bond grows stronger as they begin to plot Miranda’s demise. But there are a few things about Lily’s past that she hasn’t shared with Ted, namely her experience in the art and craft of murder, a journey that began in her very precocious youth.

Suddenly these co-conspirators are embroiled in a chilling game of cat-and-mouse, one they both cannot survive . . . with a shrewd and very determined detective on their tail. —– GOODREADS SYNOPSIS

This book has been on my TBR for a very long time and every person who has read and reviewed this book has raved about it, so, I had very very high hopes for it. I am currently 62% into it and there has been one ‘oh my god’ twist and I really liked it. Till now it is living upto my expectations but let’s see, it is a mystery so the ending would determine a lot.

Somewhere in The Deep Book Cover

Seventeen-year-old Krescent Dune is buried under the weight of her dead parents’ debt and the ruinous legacy they left behind. The only way she can earn enough money to escape her unforgiving island is by battling monstrous creatures in an underground fighting pit. After a fight goes terribly wrong, she’s banned from the pits. Now hopeless, she is offered a deal: in exchange for the erasure of her debts, she must join and protect a hunting party for a rescue mission deep within the mining caves beneath the island.

Krescent is determined to keep her head down and fulfill her role as the dutiful bodyguard, even though she is trapped underground with her childhood enemy and a company of people who would gladly kill her if they knew who her parents were. As they come across creatures she believed only existed in legends, it becomes clear they are in far more danger than she could have imagined. But someone doesn’t want her to make it out alive. And she’ll have to figure out who before she’s left alone… in the dark.

From the author of Monsters Born and Made comes an action-packed South Asian inspired fantasy that will have your heart racing at every turn. —-GOODREADS SYNOPSIS

I am only 2 pages into this one, so I don’t have much thoughts to share about what I have read so far. But, I just wanted share the first line of this novel with you.

Today, I heave, blood streaming down my face and dripping onto the packed ground below, is not the day I die.

Somewhere in the Deep by Tanvi Berwah. This quote is from an ARC of this book, so it might change in the final version

I found the first line to be so intriguing. I am not saying that it is a super shocking first line, but it was enough to get me hooked. This book is releasing on Jan 9th and I am reviewing this book on my blog on 14th. Hopefully, the review will be full of good points!


That is all for this post. Thank you so much for reading!

One thought on “It’s Monday! What are you Reading?

Leave a comment